Board of Commissioners

The Allen County Board of Commissioners: F. Nelson Peters, Richard E. Beck, Jr. and Therese M. Brown

Responsibilities & Overview

As the executive branch, the Board of Commissioners may approve policies that affect nearly 1,350 full-time county employees and another 400 part-time employees.

As the legislative branch, the Commissioners pass ordinances that primarily affect unincorporated (not within a city or town) areas of the county.

It is the only body in all of county government that can receive bids for projects and services and sign contracts.

What we do:

  • Receive bids for projects and services and sign contracts.
  • Authorize all claims on county budgets.
  • Decision-making authority over planning and zoning in the county.
  • Supervise construction and maintenance of 1,327 miles of county roads and nearly 400 bridge structures.
  • Issue bonds or approve lease-purchase agreements to borrow money for the county.
  • Serve as the Drainage Board, which oversees the legal drainage system in the county.
  • Operates and maintains all County facilities, including the historic Allen County Courthouse.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes | View Older Agendas and Minutes (2019 and Older)


The three member Allen County Board of Commissioners serves as both the executive and legislative branches of County government. While they are required to reside within their specific geographic districts, the County Commissioners are elected at-large by all Allen County voters.

  1. F. Nelson Peters

    F. Nelson Peters

    Commissioner - District 1

  1. Therese M. Brown

    Therese M. Brown

    Commissioner - District 2

  1. Richard Beck

    Richard E. Beck

    Commissioner - District 3