Board of Health


The Board of Health members are unpaid community volunteers who oversee the Department of Health. The Department of Health promotes and protects the health and well-being of our community through a variety of services and programs. The Indiana Code 16-20-2 establishing the Board of Health requires it to include at least two medical doctors (MDs), one woman, and that it must be bi-partisan. The seven members are appointed by the Allen County Board of Commissioners. The Board of Health also selects the Health Commissioner.